Massage for Fibromyalgia
      - Fibromyalgia Treatment Review Guide
Fibromyalgia
Trmnt Revs

Therapeutic Massage for Fibromyalgia



Massage by Therapist for Fibromyalgia

When receiving a massage for fibromyalgia, be sure to see a massage therapist who understands your chronic illness, so that they will give you gentle massage. The most popular form of therapeutic massage is a swedish massage. Massage therapy can ease the pain and relieve stress. Another form of massage called the deep tissue massage may be too rough, and may leave you in pain for a few hours and even days. Tell us your experience with massage therapists for fibromyalgia symptoms. Rate this fibromyalgia treatment below.

Treatment Ratings for FMS Symptoms
Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 6.35 6.35
Myofasical Trigger Point Pain Relief 6.31 6.31
More Energy / Mental Clarity 5.11 5.11
Better Sleep 6.00 6.00
No Side Effects 7.95 7.95
Convenience 5.70 5.70
Cost/Benefit 5.90 5.90
 
Depression Relief 5.70 5.70
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   3.75 3.75
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.50 1.50
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1.00
Hyopoglycemia Relief 2.00 2.00



Based on 20 rating(s) & review(s).









Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 20 ratings and reviews.




will never go without it!   02/20/13
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
MAssage therapy reduces pain very well. when there is pain in one part of the body, other muscles are stressed as splinting occurs. The massage therapist relaxes ALL of the muscles. Very effective.

Treatment Time Frame: 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Month

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity 2.00 2
Better Sleep 5.00 5
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





hot stone massage/deep tissue   09/09/11
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I have been having deep tissue massages for around 3 months now and have found them increasingly helpful in managing the fibro symptoms. OK it doesnt cure me but its very helpful and really makes me feel good. It is costly. In fact, my condition is costing me around £250 a month as i opt for alternative therapies which are costly.

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Months
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Week

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 7.00 7
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
More Energy / Mental Clarity 8.00 8
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 7.00 7
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 10.00 10
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   5.00 5
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Massage rocks   09/02/10
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
When I could afford to get weekly massages my FM pain was under control. My husband lost his job so I had to cut back to every other week, which still helps but not as much as weekly. Unfortunately it is a very expensive treatment, costing $3,400 per year if you get one massage per week! My insurance doesn't cover massage so there is no help there.

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Week

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
More Energy / Mental Clarity 4.00 4
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 8.00 8
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 6.00 6
 
Depression Relief 4.00 4
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   6.00 6
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





NO GO!   09/28/09
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
THEY FEEL NICE AND ARE THERAPEUTIC, BUT MASSAGES ARE NOT A LONG TERM SOLUTION!!! THEY CAN DULL THE PAIN, BUT THEY WILL NEVER GET TO THE SOURCE! A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY IF YOU ASK ME!

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Months
Treatment Frequency: 3 Times Per Week

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 5.00 5
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 5.00 5
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 2.00 2
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Keep Your Hands Off Me!   04/30/08
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
OMG this was painful!

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Months
Treatment Frequency: Tried it 3 Times

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 1.00 1
Convenience 1.00 1
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Home Massage Treatments   11/01/07
Reviewed by:     Ontario, Canada
I went to a Massage Therapist which took me 3 - 4 days to recover from. Most MT do not understand fibromyalgia and mistook my groans for pleasure instead of pain. Plus, it costs $60.00 an hour. My wife recently purchased a beautiful massage bed for $139.00. She created a special room for massage with low lights, candles, an electric fireplace for heat, massage oil, flannel sheets and nature music. (birds chirping, waterfalls, etc) When I walk into that room and crawl up on the table, I know that I will be in heaven for at least an hour. My wife loves it because it is exercise for her and she knows where my tender points are. Spouses.... get with the program.

Treatment Time Frame: 1 Month
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 4.00 4
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 5.00 5
More Energy / Mental Clarity n/a n/a
Better Sleep n/a n/a
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief 7.00 7
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





0 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Massage is proven to decrease substance P   09/30/07
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Substance P is the substance that is transported into nerve cells that signals there is pain. Since we have and over-abundance of substance P, we need to find ways to decrease it. They did a study on massages and it said that it was far more effective than meds, when done properly. Often a light tickle helps to those really prone to having sensitive painful spots. If you take other meds, like 5 mg of Lexapro twice a day and 75 mg of Lyrica twice a day, massage feel much better and are so helpful to our immune system as well. This should be rated above all other treatments, except for Lyrica. I rated Lyrica lower than this right now because I'm just starting to feel the benefits as it's only been 5 days, but I'm hoping that when I up the dosage in two days that Lyrica helps increase the benefits of massage therapy. I don't use a massage therapist, but my male friends make good massage therapist. Please get a massage a few times a week and your symptoms will improve. I rated this 85% because the symptoms still linger, but it's the most effective treatment so far. Included with this rating is sexual intimacy.

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Week

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
More Energy / Mental Clarity 9.00 9
Better Sleep 10.00 10
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   10.00 10
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





0 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Helped, but caution is important!   09/18/07
Reviewed by:     Springfield, Missouri, USA
This was part of a Fibromyalgia Treatment program I went through. The pain was terrible during the massage (made me cry) and sometimes I had to tell the therapist to back off or move to another spot. I also got a couple of massages outside the clinic and I REALLY cried then, so be sure your therapist understands fibromyalgia. Don't be afraid to tell them if they are pressing too hard. After it was over though, I felt much better and very relaxed. Helped to drink plenty of water afterwards to help flush out released toxins. It was a little less painful each time I went as my muscles weren't quite as tight. Worth it if you can afford it. I was lucky that my health insurance paid for most of it.

Treatment Time Frame: 4 Months
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Month

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
More Energy / Mental Clarity 7.00 7
Better Sleep 8.00 8
No Side Effects 6.00 6
Convenience 3.00 3
Cost/Benefit 5.00 5
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





0 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Terrific Treatment   07/15/07
Reviewed by:     United States
But who can afford it? I can barely keep food on the table and pay for my meds let alone pay a Massage Therapist $65 per hour once a week as suggested!

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Years
Treatment Frequency: Tried it Over 5 Times

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 7.00 7
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 7.00 7
More Energy / Mental Clarity 7.00 7
Better Sleep 7.00 7
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 5.00 5
Cost/Benefit 9.00 9
 
Depression Relief 3.00 3
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





0 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Massage   06/18/07
Reviewed by:     California, USA
I find that massage can be VERY painful when dealing with FMS, however, WELL worth the the pain. It eases up my tender spots, and also keeps someone ELSE in the loop with what my body is going through. I am able to discuss my aches and pains with someone who is caring and willing to work on a difficult disease.

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Week

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
More Energy / Mental Clarity 6.00 6
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 9.00 9
 
Depression Relief 10.00 10
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   7.00 7
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 20 ratings and reviews.













Fibromyalgia Treatments

Treatments Sorted

alphabetical list
categorical list

Treatments Rated Best


========================













 Treatments Reviewed
Protocols and Other Approaches
  
  

Massage / Bodywork
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Pool Exercises
  
  

Alternative Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Diet
  
  

Food Avoidance
  

Supplements
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Topicals
  
  
  

Devices
  
  
  

Therapies - Miscellaneous
  
  
  

Self Care Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Drug treatments
  

Drugs - Miscellaneous Rx
  

Drugs - Over the Counter
  

Drugs - Prescription
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Hot and Cold Therapy
  
  
  

Vitamin & Mineral Injections
  
  
  











Footer fibromyalgia-reviews.com
This site is for informational purposes only. It is not meant to diagnose or prevent any disease. You should seek independent health care advice regarding your personal condition, or seek advice from your medical specialist or healthcare provider. The use of this site is subject to your agreement to obtain advice from a qualified health professional.

 |