Provigil for Fibromyalgia
     - Fibromyalgia Treatment Review Guide
FMS Trmnt of
Symptoms

Provigil as a Fibromyalgia Treatment



Provigil for Fibromyalgia

Provigil may be prescribed to you by your doctor to take care of your fibromyalgia fatigue. Provigil is an anti-narcoleptic drug that is used to improve a person's wakefulness. Tell us your experience with Provigil for fibromyalgia. Rate this fibromyalgia treatment below.



Treatment Ratings for FMS Symptoms
Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 4.00 4.00
Myofasical Trigger Point Pain Relief 3.81 3.81
More Energy / Mental Clarity 7.86 7.86
Better Sleep 4.32 4.32
No Side Effects 8.62 8.62
Convenience 8.10 8.10
Cost/Benefit 7.93 7.93
 
Depression Relief 6.61 6.61
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   3.12 3.12
Genitourinary Problem Relief 3.00 3.00
Skin Problem Relief 3.18 3.18
Hyopoglycemia Relief 3.25 3.25



Based on 29 rating(s) & review(s).









Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 29 ratings and reviews.




Works For Fatigue But Not ADHD   02/08/16
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I've found that Adderall works much better for my ADHD than Provigil. However, the Provigil did help me feel more awake and alert and provided relief from the fatigue of fibromyalgia. If you have a sleep disorder it would probably be more helpful, but for ADHD I definitely recommend trying Adderall first.

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Months
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 100 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 6.00 6
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 5.00 5
More Energy / Mental Clarity 10.00 10
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 2.00 2
Cost/Benefit 8.00 8
 
Depression Relief 7.00 7
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





no help   02/06/12
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
No help

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Months
Treatment Frequency: When Needed
Dosage: 30 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 4.00 4
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





wonderful med   01/04/11
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
My fatigue was to the point that I was falling asleep at my desk at work and on the drive home . My legs ached so bad that I couldn't even shop for groceries do any housework. My depression was to the point that I considered suicide. After 3 days of this med, my life changed.. I felt like I was finally living again. I was getting it at a pain management center, but when I stopped going there ( due to loss of insurance).. my regular doctor had never heard of it and refused to discuss continuing the treatment. I hav not been able to do my usual job in over 3 yrs now because of the fatigue.. I sleep 12-14 hours a day now. I feel like my life is over

Treatment Time Frame: 1.5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 100 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
More Energy / Mental Clarity 10.00 10
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 7.00 7
 
Depression Relief 9.00 9
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Provigil is a life saver for brain fog on my job   06/13/10
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
My only problem is that my new insurance does not want to cover my rx for Provigil & it is very expensive. I'm trying to get them to change their minds, I even took a sleep study(don't recomend that)

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 200 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 4.00 4
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 5.00 5
More Energy / Mental Clarity 10.00 10
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 9.00 9
 
Depression Relief 6.00 6
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   4.00 4
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





NO DRUGS   02/17/10
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I do not recommend anyone taking drugs for Fibromyalgia symptoms. I have suffered from Fibro for about 2 years. I have tried just about every drug, and they are all just a temoprary relief of pain with huge side effects. Most people don't know that the problem usually comes from your stomach, and drugs just make it worst. I BEG ALL SUFFERERS TO PLEASE TRY PROBIOTICS, AND L-GLUTAMINE. YOU CAN BUY AT ANY HEALTH FOOD STORE. THEY REALLY WORK!!!

Treatment Time Frame: Less Than 1 Week
Treatment Frequency: When Needed
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 1.00 1
Convenience 1.00 1
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Keeps me functioning!   09/30/09
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Without it I could not function on a daily basis, I would be restricted to the house.

Treatment Time Frame: Less Than 1 Week
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 200 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 3.00 3
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
More Energy / Mental Clarity 10.00 10
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 8.00 8
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 6.00 6
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





4 out of 4 people found this review useful.

Extremely helpful for me   05/08/09
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
In addition to Fibromyalgia, I have Systemic Lupus Erythemetous (with positive lupus anticoagulant), Degenerative Disc Disease, Failed double-disc back surgery, Hypothyroidism, and Hypertension(OY!) So, I generally feel like complete crap all the time. And after 15+yrs, I'll tell ya, it gets no better with age. However, during those 15 yrs, I held a full time medical office job, sang in a blues band on weekends, and took complete care of my husband, my dog, and my home. I'm pretty proud of that. I have been on Provigil for over 10+ years...I take 2-4 tablets a day. I never had one side effect. I've been prescribed, and tried several antidepressants in the past, but they just made me fat and unhappy. Provigil actually gives me MOTIVATION. Recently, I unfortunately had the opportunity to do my own case study. Six wks ago, my insurance company decided my 10+yr-old script for Provigil suddenly needed a "PRIOR AUTHORIZATION" from my doctor's office, in order for them to cover it (most likely because, as with every other good drug, people started using it as a "recreational" drug, thus ruining it for the legitimate cases). So,I thought, "Whatever, I can live without it for a while". BOY, WAS I WRONG!! Not due to withdrawals, or anything of the sort, because it's not that kind of drug. But for the 6 wks it took for my authorization to go through, I literally did not want to get off the damned couch. I couldn't. Now, the reason most doctors want to prescribe antidepressants for Fibromyalgia, is because when you don't FEEL like doing anything, they assume it's a mental thing. And, yeah, you can start to feel worthless and hopeless...so, you MUST be depressed. They don't understand how someone could just feel too icky and too tired. I would lie on my couch all day, and and with all the ambition in the world, I'd write a long list of things to HOPEFULLY accomplish the following day. Of course, I couldn't do any of it. But it wasn't that I didn't NEED or WANT to do these things...in fact, I always thought I might be able to do it. So I was wasting away...sinking deeper and deeper into my "funk". But, It's not DEPRESSION...I don't feel depressed...I'm too tired to feel anything...I don't want to KILL MYSELF for Christ's sake...I just don't want to do ANYTHING...I'm just too tired. Personally, I think that feeling could be almost WORSE than depression. Mostly because you're so angry at yourself. You're angry that you used to be able to do everything your friends could do...angry because YOU KNOW that the best thing for you is to KEEP MOVING...get out...take a walk...call a friend or family member to catch up...But you can't...you just can't. And you don't WANT to be this way...you just are. Now, how on Earth are you supposed to explain that to anybody else? Anyway...I may seem worked up a bit...but it's just because I finally got my Provigil script back this afternoon...AND, after 6+wks of basic inactivity, I ALSO just got back from walking my dog for 5+ blocks, with my sister-in-law...because I happened to run into her on my way home from visiting my sister, and told her I'd actually like to walk with her! Now...I do take pain medication on a regular basis for my many ailments. However, while on Provigil, I find I need half as much. Granted, while you're sitting on the couch, doing nothing, you've got nothing else to do but think about your pain. My point is, for me personally, without Provigil (over the last 6 wks) I was completely sedentary, severely unmotivated, and yes, started to think I was becoming depressed. However, finally on Provigil again...I can GET OFF THE COUCH...actually motivate myself to take any invitation to have lunch or take a simple walk...or even just to do the damned dishes. I don't feel the need to nap every 1/2 hour. THIS makes me feel better. Sure...I still have pain...but at least now, I have the motivation and energy to try to DO something about it, or just forget it for a little while. And THAT makes me FEEL BETTER. You know, after 15+yrs of this stuff...I've come to the conclusion that it's not the "hopelessness" feeling of depression, that so many doctors are so robotically trained to diagnose and treat you for...It's the USELESSNESS that's the REAL problem. And from experience, the 5-6 different antidepressants that have been forced on me, with all their side effects, have never helped the uselessness. It BECOMES an emotional thing because you PHYSICALLY aren't able to do the things you need to do...because you're just too damned tired. Yeah, if you squitch on my "trigger points", they still hurt. Yes, after I do a bunch of stuff, I'm a bit tired. But at least I actually DID a bunch of stuff. I'm not a chemist...I don't know exactly how Provigil works. It is not "Speed", and my BP was is under better control when I'm on it. I'm not gonna run any marathons...it's just not my nature. All I know is that without it, I was an uncharacteristically uncommunicative couch potato. And that's no way to live...no matter how "sick" you might be. Not exactly a long story, short, but there's my "Provigil testimonial". Try it...It might just help you too.

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 400 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 4.00 4
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 4.00 4
More Energy / Mental Clarity 9.00 9
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 10.00 10
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





3 out of 3 people found this review useful.

Miracle Drug   08/23/08
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Finally a drug that actually works! My worst symptoms are SEVERE fatigue, muscle pain and headaches. All my symptoms are all most completely gone and it has only been a week. I don't have any side effects to Provigil so far. I have more energy than I have had in 6 yrs and feel 10 yrs younger! I finally have my life back. I have had headaches 7 days a week for so long I can't remember when they started and now they are subsiding...That in itself is a miracle...Love this medication!! Hope it lasts.

Treatment Time Frame: 1 Week
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 200 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
More Energy / Mental Clarity 10.00 10
Better Sleep 10.00 10
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 10.00 10
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   10.00 10
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





provigal   06/04/08
Reviewed by:     United States
I am able to write and make sense of what I am saying and I could not do that before . I also use to sleep a great deal of the day and this helps me stay awake so I sleep better at night

Treatment Time Frame: 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 200 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 4.00 4
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 4.00 4
More Energy / Mental Clarity 10.00 10
Better Sleep n/a n/a
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 10.00 10
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Works great for fatigue   05/08/08
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
This medication works great for the fatigue of fibromyalgia. Only drawback is many insurance companies will not pay for it since it is only FDA approved for Narcolopsy. It is very expensive to purchase without insurance at $10 a pill. I am currently going to buy from an online UK pharmacy since they have a generic version which is not yet available in the US and the cost is about 1/3. Once you start taking it and see how well it works it is very depressing to be told that you can no longer get it. I get samples from my rheumatologist or neurologist sometimes, but it gets embarassing to ask every month! Good luck!

Treatment Time Frame: 1 Year
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 200 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 7.00 7
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 7.00 7
More Energy / Mental Clarity 9.00 9
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 7.00 7
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 29 ratings and reviews.













Fibromyalgia Treatments

Treatments Sorted

alphabetical list
categorical list

Treatments Rated Best


========================













 Treatments Reviewed
Protocols and Other Approaches
  
  

Massage / Bodywork
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Pool Exercises
  
  

Alternative Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Diet
  
  

Food Avoidance
  

Supplements
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Topicals
  
  
  

Devices
  
  
  

Therapies - Miscellaneous
  
  
  

Self Care Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Drug treatments
  

Drugs - Miscellaneous Rx
  

Drugs - Over the Counter
  

Drugs - Prescription
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Hot and Cold Therapy
  
  
  

Vitamin & Mineral Injections
  
  
  











Footer fibromyalgia-reviews.com
This site is for informational purposes only. It is not meant to diagnose or prevent any disease. You should seek independent health care advice regarding your personal condition, or seek advice from your medical specialist or healthcare provider. The use of this site is subject to your agreement to obtain advice from a qualified health professional.

 |