OxyContin for Fibromyalgia
       - Fibromyalgia Treatment Review Guide
FMS Trmnt of
Symptoms

OxyContin as a Fibromyalgia Treatment



OxyContin for Fibromyalgia Pain

OxyContin is a narcotic analgesic that may be prescribed to you by your doctor for your fibromyalgia pain. Be very careful not to abuse this drug, as overdoses can cause death. Furthermore, changing the time-release pill's integrity by crushing it into a powder form, can make a person pass out and die. One must take it as prescribed by your doctor. Tell us your experience with OxyContin for fibromyalgia. Rate this fibromyalgia treatment below.


Treatment Ratings for FMS Symptoms
Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 8.35 8.35
Myofasical Trigger Point Pain Relief 7.90 7.90
More Energy / Mental Clarity 6.65 6.65
Better Sleep 5.36 5.36
No Side Effects 8.17 8.17
Convenience 8.79 8.79
Cost/Benefit 9.38 9.38
 
Depression Relief 6.20 6.20
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   3.82 3.82
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.83 1.83
Skin Problem Relief 4.57 4.57
Hyopoglycemia Relief 2.33 2.33



Based on 24 rating(s) & review(s).









Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 24 ratings and reviews.




Oxycontin is the best treatment for fibro of all   02/18/14
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Hi before I had oxycontin I was bed ridden now I can get out of bed and go out although I'm in pain I am also able to put up with it much better I take 40 mg oxycontin and 15mg diazepam daily and believe me I am a man with a life that gives me pain before I was a cripple laid in bed unable to do anything

Treatment Time Frame: Less Than 1 Week
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 40 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 6.00 6
More Energy / Mental Clarity 6.00 6
Better Sleep 3.00 3
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 4.00 4
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   3.00 3
Genitourinary Problem Relief 2.00 2
Skin Problem Relief 8.00 8
Hypoglycemia Relief 3.00 3

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Oxycontin Does Help With my Fibromyalgia Pain   05/30/13
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I experimented with not taking any opiates for a period of 6 to 8 weeks because I was looking to make big changes in my life. Well after a week of horrible withdrawal symptoms when they started to ease I substituted the Oxycontin with lots of different things. Gabapentin, Ibuprofen tablets and creams, Tramadol, low dosage Rivotril and Fish oil capsules mainly. A further problem I had in trying to over come the use of Oxycontin was that I am overly sensitive to many different medications some of which are supposed to help with Fibromyalgia(Lyrica, Cymbalta, Savella, Duloxetine and Endep. I get some nasty side effects, although I can take some of these but only at a minimum dosage which was found to be useless. Anyway after suffering for several weeks I had enough and went back to my GP and said can I please go back onto Oxycontin. Honestly within about 8 hours and only haven taken about 60mg I think my overall pain levels dropped by atleast 50% for the first time in weeks. All of a sudden my lower back, the bottoms of my feet and aching in the legs and arms lowered big time. I don't care what these researches say bout opiates not being effective when dealing with Fibromyalgia because from what I experienced that's rubbish. Maybe it could be ineffective for some people but for me anyhow and perhaps others out there too it certainly has helped me and I don't even really get any sort of high from it so it's not an addiction thing. I actually live a very healthy life. Well that's my view....good luck

Treatment Time Frame: 2.5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 3 Times Per Day
Dosage: 100 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
More Energy / Mental Clarity 10.00 10
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 1.00 1
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Opiate Pain Relief   04/18/12
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I take many on list but this one works for pain.

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 3 Times Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
More Energy / Mental Clarity 3.00 3
Better Sleep 10.00 10
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 10.00 10
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





benefits and side effects of oxycontin   02/11/12
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Oxycontin is a great med when you are in crisis. The problem is, continued use will develop severe addictions. Use only in emergencies.

Treatment Time Frame: Less Than 1 Week
Treatment Frequency: When Needed
Dosage: 30 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
More Energy / Mental Clarity 9.00 9
Better Sleep 7.00 7
No Side Effects 6.00 6
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 6.00 6
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





DOES WONDERS   01/21/12
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I WAS PRESCRIBED THIS ABOUT 5 MONTHS AGO. AFTER TAKING CYMBALTA (WHICH DID NOT WORK AND MADE ME VERY HYPOTENSIVE - FEELING LIKE I WAS GOING TO PASS OUT). ALSO TRIED LYRICA WHICH DID NOT WORK AT ALL. ALL I CAN SAY IS IT DOES WONDERS FOR ME. THE ONLY COMPLAINT I HAD WAS SOME CONSTIPATION IN THE BEGINNING BUT NOW THAT HAS SUBSIDED. I TAKE IT ONCE IN THE MORNING ABOUT 1 HOUR BEFORE GETTING OUT OF BED AND ONCE AT NIGHT BEFORE GOING TO SLEEP. I ALSO TAKE VICODIN IN THE AFTERNOON ( 7.5/325). I HAVE FOUND THAT THIS IS THE ONLY THING THAT WORKS FOR ME. AS WELL SITTING IN HOT WATER OR A HOT TUB (JACUZZI). I WILL COMMENT THAT THIS IS A DRUG HIGHLY ABUSED. NEVER AND I MEAN NEVER TELL ANYONE BUT YOUR DOCTOS THAT YOU ARE TAKING IT. YOU WILL TAKE A HIGH RISK OF TELLING ANYONE ELSE THAT YOU USE THIS DRUG, OF YOUR HOUSE BEING BROKEN INTO OR HAVING THE MEDICINE STOLEN FROM YOU. AGAIN ABSOLUTELY DO NOT SHARE WITH OTHERS THAT YOU USE OXYCONTIN EXCEPT MEDICAL PROFESSIONALS. AND BE VERY CAREFUL TO NOT OD, OR ABUSE. BECAUSE THE MOMENT YOU DO, THE DOCTOR WILL STOP PRESCRIBING IT TO YOU. EVERY TIME I GO TO THE DOCTOR TO GET MY PRESCRIPTION HE DOES DRUG LEVELS. TO MAKE SURE I AM TAKING THE RIGHT AMOUNT AND NOT TAKING ANYTHING ELSE I AM NOT PRESCRIBED FOR.

Treatment Time Frame: 5 Months
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
More Energy / Mental Clarity 10.00 10
Better Sleep 10.00 10
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 9.00 9
 
Depression Relief 10.00 10
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 10.00 10
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Works for Me   11/11/11
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
When first diagnosed, I was prescribed several different typical medications used to treat fibromyalgia. Many/most are also used commonly for Depression (ie: Cymbalta). I was diagnosed with Chronic Depression during my recovery from an auto accident 18 years ago making me wonder if all the antidepressants I had been taking for so long had something to do with the lack of effectiveness with pain relief for Me.? Im fully aware of the dangers of addiction as I have worked in the Medical field for over 3 decades. I was very leery about taking Oxycontin when first suggested...but nothing had worked so far and pain was interferring with my quality of life; # 1 problem being my ability to work at my career was declining. I tried it. I keep my communication with both my Psychiatrist and Doctor open and honest. Most importantly, I remember that taking pain medication is an "inside job", meaning 'only you know how much pain you are in'. Spiritual honesty and a close relationship with my caregivers has made my life 'Livable'.

Treatment Time Frame: 10 Months
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
More Energy / Mental Clarity 8.00 8
Better Sleep n/a n/a
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 6.00 6
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   9.00 9
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

taking Oxycontin for Fibromyalgia   11/03/11
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I have been taking the extended time release tablets for at least 8 months now and it has worked for me better than other treatments. I also have sjogrens syndrome and it helps me with those symptoms too.

Treatment Time Frame: 8 Months
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 60 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
More Energy / Mental Clarity 9.00 9
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 7.00 7
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 10.00 10
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





2 out of 2 people found this review useful.

It's been a huge help.   09/13/11
Reviewed by:     United States
This medication is the only reason I can get out of bed sometimes. I'm not back to my old self, but I do get better days, now and then.

Treatment Time Frame: 9 Months
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 60 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 7.00 7
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 6.00 6
More Energy / Mental Clarity 5.00 5
Better Sleep 4.00 4
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 4.00 4
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

OXYCODONE- NOT CONTIN   08/23/11
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I TAKE OXYCODONE (AKA ROXICDONE) WHICH IS INSTANT RELEASE. I HAVE TRIED EVERYTHING AND THIS IS A MIRACLE DRUG. IT'S TOO BAD THAT SO MANY PPL MISUSE IT SO IT'S NOW VERY HARD TO GET MY PRESCRIPTIONS. MY DOSAGE HAS HARDY INCREASE SINCE STARTING THIS MED. AT THE MOST MY INCREASE HAS BEEN ONE EXTRA PILL. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED AND VALIUM IS GREAT TOO AND SHOULD BE ON THIS LIST! :)

Treatment Time Frame: 1.5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
More Energy / Mental Clarity 10.00 10
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 8.00 8
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 9.00 9
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Helps but expensive   07/25/11
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I was on 40mg oxycontin for several years. It defiantly made my pain tolerable and allowed me to function in my daily life. The biggest drawback is the cost, w/o insurance, a months supply would be well over $300! The only bad side effect wat the constipation but that was a small price to pay for comfort.

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 40 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 6.00 6
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 6.00 6
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 24 ratings and reviews.













Fibromyalgia Treatments

Treatments Sorted

alphabetical list
categorical list

Treatments Rated Best


========================













 Treatments Reviewed
Protocols and Other Approaches
  
  

Massage / Bodywork
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Pool Exercises
  
  

Alternative Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Diet
  
  

Food Avoidance
  

Supplements
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Topicals
  
  
  

Devices
  
  
  

Therapies - Miscellaneous
  
  
  

Self Care Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Drug treatments
  

Drugs - Miscellaneous Rx
  

Drugs - Over the Counter
  

Drugs - Prescription
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Hot and Cold Therapy
  
  
  

Vitamin & Mineral Injections
  
  
  











Footer fibromyalgia-reviews.com
This site is for informational purposes only. It is not meant to diagnose or prevent any disease. You should seek independent health care advice regarding your personal condition, or seek advice from your medical specialist or healthcare provider. The use of this site is subject to your agreement to obtain advice from a qualified health professional.

 |