Lexapro for Fibromyalgia
     - Fibromyalgia Treatment Review Guide
FMS Trmnt of
Symptoms

Lexapro as a Fibromyalgia Treatment



Lexapro for Fibromyalgia

Lexapro may be prescribed to you by a doctor for the nervousness and anxiety that comes along with fibromyalgia. The doctor may also prescribe it for sleep problems and fibromyalgia pain. Tell us your experience with Lexapro for fibromyalgia. Rate this fibromyalgia treatment below.


Treatment Ratings for FMS Symptoms
Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 3.67 3.67
Myofasical Trigger Point Pain Relief 2.82 2.82
More Energy / Mental Clarity 3.83 3.83
Better Sleep 4.17 4.17
No Side Effects 7.31 7.31
Convenience 8.77 8.77
Cost/Benefit 6.46 6.46
 
Depression Relief 6.40 6.40
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.75 1.75
Genitourinary Problem Relief 4.00 4.00
Skin Problem Relief 3.00 3.00
Hyopoglycemia Relief 1.75 1.75



Based on 13 rating(s) & review(s).









Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 13 ratings and reviews.




1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Lexapro Excellent Tx for FMS   11/22/12
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
After my Neurologist tried several medicinal treatments for my Fibromyalgia, including Lyrica, Cymbalta, and Neurontin, my Psychiatrist diagnosed me with Generalized Anxiety Disorder with depressive symptoms. I said, "What about my Fibro pain?!" He said, "Oh that will resolve after I treat your anxiety & depression." I thought he was just putting my problem under the rug... In 6 weeks, and one boost from 10mg to 20mg, my depression was GONE and my panic attacks subsided. I have absolutely NO side effects from Lexapro and I feel wonderful. My pain has become manageable with Tylenol and Ibuprofen. This was unimaginable before.. nothing would calm my nerves/muscles. I have never felt more normal in my life. I hope to help others discover a true, effective treatment for this lifelong disability. Good luck! Oh, also I take 250mg of Magnesium and Levity (B complex vitamins), walk daily, and try not to skip meals. -Kathleen

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Months
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 6.00 6
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 6.00 6
More Energy / Mental Clarity 9.00 9
Better Sleep n/a n/a
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 10.00 10
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 9.00 9
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Suffer from Bi-pilor disoder   01/24/11
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Had a bi-polar disorder since 1993 (all started after a botched shoulder surgery - or that is at least when it got diagnosed). Lexapro is a solid anti-depressant, and while it has struggles against my manic side, it works well in concert with other protocals. When they took me off of Lexapro to try some of the anti-dep/bipolar meds that are targeted at FM, my depression and mania went out of control. Of all the anti-dep, Lexapro is the best at avoiding side-effects (in my case at least).

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
More Energy / Mental Clarity 4.00 4
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 6.00 6
 
Depression Relief 9.00 9
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

DEADLY DRUG   09/08/10
Reviewed by:     Australia
I am 36 years old and have had Fibromyalgia for 6 years. You will never hear me talk about another drug like this one. IT IS DEADLY!!!! I had 35 side effects, which included involuntary movement, tremors, shaking, blood in stool, cramping, rash, major depression (yet this is why i was put on it, was to treat depression) I also hulucinated, paranoid, made me suicidal, it also dropped my blood pressure which was not good because it's usually a bit low, the list goes on. The doctor freaked out and called another doctor in to witness what the drug had done to me. The involuntary movements was proberly the worst. I was immediately taken off it knowing full well that it would take 2 weeks for it to get out of my system, that 2 weeks was HELL! NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN! I understand that all drugs work differently for different people, but please be very very careful with this drug.

Treatment Time Frame: 1 Month
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 1.00 1
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 2.00 2
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





Lexapro (Escitalopram   06/16/10
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I took Generic for Lexapro (Escitalopram) for treating depression. Certain drugs interact with generic for lexapro and increase the side effects level. some of the drugs are Amitriptyline, Cimetidine and you find more at International Drug Mart on what you should not take.

Treatment Time Frame: 1 Month
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity n/a n/a
Better Sleep 7.00 7
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

HORRIBLE   09/26/08
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I was put on this medication by a rhumetologist. He put me on this after telling me he would not change my current medication regime at all. When I called to get a refill of flexeril for muscle spasms and sleep issues the nurse told me he would't fill it but had changed me to this med. I tried it for two days. I was in the bathroom for two whole days, sick as a dog. My poor 6 year old had to fend for herself those 2 days. On Monday morning I called the doctor's office and told them to change me back immediatly. Headache, vomitting, diahrea, heart palpatations etc. Never again!!!

Treatment Time Frame: Less Than 1 Week
Treatment Frequency: Tried it 2 Times
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 1.00 1
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

it's subtle   05/23/08
Reviewed by:     Chicago, Illinois, USA
I was just diagnosed with fibromyalgia 3 months ago but suspect I've had it for over a decade. Lexapro is the only thing I've tried so far. I have found that overall for depression it works quite well. It made all the deep depression go away, yet does not make me overly cheerful, emotionally numb, or robotically happy. However, my doctor prescribed it saying it would boost my energy levels (they suck). However I have found that instead of my already lame 40-minute post-work nap, I'm now knocked out for 2 to 2 1/2 hours after work! I'm totally drained, as if even the greatest amount of willpower won't get me up. And I still get tired by bedtime and am (somewhat anxiety-ishly) sleeping a full 7-8 hours. Pain-wise, I noticed a bit of reduction in the intensity. But now my pain seems more spread out, less concentrated in my shoulder blades. I don't know if this is related to the Lexapro or would have happened anyway. Sex drive seems about the same or a little bit lower, but it's much harder to have an orgasm. That's lame! If my doctor agrees, I think my next step is to taper off the Lexapro and try Adderall.

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Months
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 3.00 3
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 2.00 2
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 5.00 5
 
Depression Relief 9.00 9
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Lexapro   09/30/07
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
It's good for sleep and a little good for the neck pain, but that's all it seems to help with. It makes fatigue far worse for me. I cannot take more than 10 mg per day or I get pretty ill, extremely fatigued, and really zombie like.

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Months
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 5.00 5
No Side Effects 4.00 4
Convenience 4.00 4
Cost/Benefit 3.00 3
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Addictive, but helpful   06/18/07
Reviewed by:     California, USA
It does help with the depression, but don't try to take yourself off of it. You WILL need your Dr. to gradually bring you down off of it.

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 2.00 2
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 7.00 7
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Not for me...   08/26/06
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I took this as a trial to see if it helped my insomnia. I found it to be too mood altering. My sister commented that I didn't seem to care about the things that had bugged me just a few weeks before. I didn't like that it made me feel as though I was always smiling like a synchronized swimmer.

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Months
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 2.00 2
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 2.00 2
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

At last I've found relief!   06/08/06
Reviewed by:     Washington, USA
I'm not depressed, but my doctor suspects that I have fibromylagia. I haven't been sleeping well...waking every couple of hours, getting up to go to the bathroom, etc. When I don't sleep well, I'm in a lot of pain the next day. My doctor prescribed Lexapro and it has been working great. Prior to starting Lexapro, she had me try Cymbalta, but it made me nauseated, which made it harder to sleep. I now sleep through the night without waking (even to go to the bathroom....I'm diabetic, so this hasn't happened in several years) and feel great the next day. I would never had guessed that a pill for depression could help me be pain-free!

Treatment Time Frame: 1 Week
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity 8.00 8
Better Sleep 10.00 10
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief 10.00 10
Skin Problem Relief 7.00 7
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 13 ratings and reviews.













Fibromyalgia Treatments

Treatments Sorted

alphabetical list
categorical list

Treatments Rated Best


========================













 Treatments Reviewed
Protocols and Other Approaches
  
  

Massage / Bodywork
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Pool Exercises
  
  

Alternative Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Diet
  
  

Food Avoidance
  

Supplements
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Topicals
  
  
  

Devices
  
  
  

Therapies - Miscellaneous
  
  
  

Self Care Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Drug treatments
  

Drugs - Miscellaneous Rx
  

Drugs - Over the Counter
  

Drugs - Prescription
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Hot and Cold Therapy
  
  
  

Vitamin & Mineral Injections
  
  
  











Footer fibromyalgia-reviews.com
This site is for informational purposes only. It is not meant to diagnose or prevent any disease. You should seek independent health care advice regarding your personal condition, or seek advice from your medical specialist or healthcare provider. The use of this site is subject to your agreement to obtain advice from a qualified health professional.

 |