Flexeril for Fibromyalgia
    - Fibromyalgia Treatment Review Guide
FMS Trmnt of
Symptoms

Flexeril as a Fibromyalgia Treatment



Flexeril for Fibromyalgia

Flexeril may be prescribed to you by your doctor for your fibromyalgia stiffness. Flexeril is a relaxant for muscles. It's used to treat muscle spasms. Tell us your experience with Flexeril for fibromyalgia. Rate this fibromyalgia treatment below.


Treatment Ratings for FMS Symptoms
Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 3.18 3.18
Myofasical Trigger Point Pain Relief 2.83 2.83
More Energy / Mental Clarity 3.44 3.44
Better Sleep 6.88 6.88
No Side Effects 6.94 6.94
Convenience 8.18 8.18
Cost/Benefit 6.94 6.94
 
Depression Relief 2.70 2.70
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.82 1.82
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1.00
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1.00
Hyopoglycemia Relief 1.75 1.75



Based on 17 rating(s) & review(s).









Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 17 ratings and reviews.




Flexeril is life saver   10/13/13
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Before taking flexeril I was constantly fatigued. Since taking Iit I have much more energy. I've been taking it for over 15 years. Only side effect is that when I've run out I had insomnia for several days - so there are withdrawal symptoms.

Treatment Time Frame: 6 Months
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 4.00 4
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity 8.00 8
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 8.00 8
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 4.00 4
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 4.00 4

Did this review help you?            





give flexril a try   02/07/13
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Guys give it a try.I'm can tell the difference.Even though brain fog is stil there.I sleep alot.As long as i dont have to be in so much pain.

Treatment Time Frame: Less Than 1 Week
Treatment Frequency: Tried it 3 Times
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity 5.00 5
Better Sleep 10.00 10
No Side Effects 4.00 4
Convenience 5.00 5
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





0 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Works for me   10/06/10
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and my doc prescribed me Feleril because I am a light sleeper and wake up with the wind change.Also I am extremely tired all day every day.I yawned constantly and even got nasty stares during meetings because I yawned so much. I take 1 pill 30 min before bed every night and like clockwork my eyes begin to shut 30 min later. I sleep wonderfully and don't wake up with side or arm pains like i used to. A few things though, if I sleep on my back I get muscle ticks in my leg and arm so I just roll to my side and it stops. Also I fell ok when waking up in the morning, I have always had trouble getting up for teh past few years, it makes it easier to get up though I am still al little sleepy. Over all I would say it is a success atleast I sleep like a baby and I don't yawn all day long.

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Weeks
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity 4.00 4
Better Sleep 10.00 10
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   2.00 2
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





flexeril for fibromyalgia   09/04/10
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I am currently on other medications for fibromyalgia and depression but i was really amazed out how well rested I felt the following day. Going to sleep was easy. When i woke up I was in a great mood. I think this in combination with the other meds works well

Treatment Time Frame: Less Than 1 Week
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: Less than 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 4.00 4
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
More Energy / Mental Clarity 9.00 9
Better Sleep 10.00 10
No Side Effects 8.00 8
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 10.00 10
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





flexeril   11/15/09
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
it didnt work at all it was prescribed for my sleep disturbence and it put me to sleep for about an hour but i was awake soon and even more aggravating it gave me this weird feeling like i just had to keep moving my arm and or legs. it was an awful feeling for me so irritating.

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Months
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 2.00 2
Convenience 3.00 3
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





0 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Coma   10/28/09
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I have no idea if this medication helps with pain or any other symptoms. When I take it, I have about 20 minutes of conciousness and then wake up 18-20 hours later. I am currently on short term disability (or fighting insurance for it) and really dont want to go onto permanent disability. There is no way that I could take this medication in the evening and wake up in time for work, especially with the fatigue my fibro already causes. I must say that I hate Flexeril and refuse to take it. I have had much more success with a decent anti-anxiety medication that relaxes muscles and causes drowsiness. I do not consider this a treatment for fibromyalgia and agree with the person who described it as a pre-operative medication.

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Years
Treatment Frequency: Tried it 3 Times
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 3.00 3
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 3.00 3
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 10.00 10
No Side Effects 3.00 3
Convenience 1.00 1
Cost/Benefit 2.00 2
 
Depression Relief 3.00 3
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

To people who are experiencing drowsiness   05/06/09
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I just wanted to let others know, since I've seen a large number of reviews saying that Flexeril causes extreme drowsiness & grogginess, that that is not a long-term effect. When I first started taking Flexeril, one 10 mg pill would knock me out for 20 hours, I am not kidding, it was that powerful, I'd sleep that long. Fast forward 4 years later, and now the meds only last about 3-4 hours, NO drowsiness whatsoever, of course now for the muscle relaxant effect I have to take another after about 4 hours. But now I can take 4 in a day & have no ill effects at all. I rarely take pills except during the day. On REALLY bad days I've even used it as much as 5-6 pills over the course of a day, but I try not to do that too often. Another thing that may be helpful to anyone considering this med is that since even with tolerance to the drug, there can still be a little tiredness in the daytime/sedation type effect, I've found that when I combine a more "stimulating" drug (in my case, Tylenol 3's) WITH the Flexeril, and take them at the same time, there is absolutely no effects in terms of drowsiness, lack of energy or mental or cognitive impairment. So if it helps you, don't give up yet. Having said that, I've this past week been to a pain clinic finally for the first time & they recommended I try Baclofen because it doesn't have that "tolerance-building" quality for long term use. Re: the tolerance, by the way, yes, I have developed a tolerance but the meds still work. They certainly don't eradicate the pain, but a T3/Flexeril combo can be the difference when pain is bad between being able to get something done & NOT being able to. I hope this helps you make a decision about whether or not to try Flexeril or keep going with it. Oh yes, and it does work pretty well also as a sleep aid at night. Particularly if you combine it with other night time meds (for me Elavil & Remeron). I don't use it for that much, but it does work.

Treatment Time Frame: 4 Years
Treatment Frequency: 4 Times Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 5.00 5
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 5.00 5
More Energy / Mental Clarity 10.00 10
Better Sleep 8.00 8
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 7.00 7
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Helps with sleep sometimes   10/07/08
Reviewed by:     Texas, USA
Sometimes the Flexeril helps me sleep. But, most of the time I am in too much pain to sleep. I am on Cymbalta, Lyrica,Darvocet and Flexiril. I would hate to think what my pain level would be without these, but, at the same time, I feel like I get little or no relief. I agree with many of the other writers. There has to be something out there to help. I also have Rheumatoid Arthritis. So, My pain level stays at at least an 8 on a scale of 1-10. I cannot stand longer than 5 minutes without being in so much pain my knees begin to buckle. I am sick of not being the wife, mother and grandma that I want to be. My family has taken my drivers lisence from me because of the FM fog. I have found a really good websit that offers a wonderful way to explain the pain we live in. It is www.butyoudontlooksick.com

Treatment Time Frame: 1 Year
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 4.00 4
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 8.00 8
No Side Effects 8.00 8
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Not a suitable Fibro treatment   05/07/08
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
This drug works for about a week and a half, then after that no effects can be felt at all. I am still in SEVERE pain all the time with no relief. The side effects are pretty bad as well. It makes you feel quite groggy in the morning, not wanting to even see daylight. It also causes constapation so if you do take Flexeril remember to consume LOTS of fiber! I would not recommend this to anyone, unless it is being used as a sleep aid.

Treatment Time Frame: 4 Months
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep n/a n/a
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





DID NOT HELP   03/07/08
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I HAVE BEEN PRESCRIBED THIS TWICE BY THE SAME DOCTOR AND FINALLY I HOPE SHE UNDERSTANDS THIS DOES NOT BRING ME ANY RELEIFE AT ALL. I HAVE BEEN SUFFERING FOR TWO YEARS NOW AND HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO WORK FOR OVER A YEAR NOW.I HAVE TWO CHILDREN AND WOULD LOVE TO HAVE MY LIFE BACK.I STARTED TO CRY WHILE EXPLAINING MY PAIN TO MY DOCTOR AND SHE SAID I WAS DEPRESSED.WELL YEAH SHE WOULD BE TOO IF SHE HURT AS BAD AS ME.

Treatment Time Frame: 1 Month
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 17 ratings and reviews.













Fibromyalgia Treatments

Treatments Sorted

alphabetical list
categorical list

Treatments Rated Best


========================













 Treatments Reviewed
Protocols and Other Approaches
  
  

Massage / Bodywork
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Pool Exercises
  
  

Alternative Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Diet
  
  

Food Avoidance
  

Supplements
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Topicals
  
  
  

Devices
  
  
  

Therapies - Miscellaneous
  
  
  

Self Care Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Drug treatments
  

Drugs - Miscellaneous Rx
  

Drugs - Over the Counter
  

Drugs - Prescription
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Hot and Cold Therapy
  
  
  

Vitamin & Mineral Injections
  
  
  











Footer fibromyalgia-reviews.com
This site is for informational purposes only. It is not meant to diagnose or prevent any disease. You should seek independent health care advice regarding your personal condition, or seek advice from your medical specialist or healthcare provider. The use of this site is subject to your agreement to obtain advice from a qualified health professional.

 |