Elavil for Fibromyalgia
      - Fibromyalgia Treatment Review Guide
FMS Trmnt of
Symptoms

Elavil as a Fibromyalgia Treatment



Elavil for Fibromyalgia

Elavil is an anti-depressant that a doctor may prescribe to improve your sleep, and to help with fibromyalgia pain. Tell us your experience with Elavil for fibromyalgia. Rate this fibromyalgia treatment below.


Treatment Ratings for FMS Symptoms
Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 3.10 3.10
Myofasical Trigger Point Pain Relief 3.13 3.13
More Energy / Mental Clarity 3.56 3.56
Better Sleep 6.27 6.27
No Side Effects 5.91 5.91
Convenience 8.00 8.00
Cost/Benefit 6.82 6.82
 
Depression Relief 4.17 4.17
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1.00
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.33 1.33
Skin Problem Relief 1.14 1.14
Hyopoglycemia Relief 1.00 1.00



Based on 11 rating(s) & review(s).









Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 11 ratings and reviews.




my experience   11/28/11
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
it hasnt helped me out a whole lot, I still experience everything the same as I did before. It helped with sleep for the first bit now it just makes me extremely tired in the morning. Also used to help with my migraines, it has now stopped helping with that.

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 3.00 3
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 4.00 4
Cost/Benefit 5.00 5
 
Depression Relief 2.00 2
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Part of a Mix of Treatments   12/21/09
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Every woman in my extended family over 40 is on this medication. Downside: Constipation, dry mouth, low libido as side effects. I have not been able to get off of this medication...have 'rebound' insomnia when I try. HOWEVER it does work to improve the quality and depth of sleep, in conjunction with Traditional Chinese Medicine Herbs. For me, both are required. Good sleep seems to be key to managing fibro pain.

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 3.00 3
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity n/a n/a
Better Sleep 5.00 5
No Side Effects 5.00 5
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 7.00 7
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Elavil   07/09/09
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Elavil makes me groggy in the morning, and only helps me to fall asleep and stay asleep, but when I take it, I don't dream, which sucks. I'd rather use MJ, but it's illegal in Wi, which also sucks. Basically, I do gentle excer. like swimming, but nothing really helps the pain. So I'm stuck. Wish I were in Oregon or Cali. where mj is legal. Denver aka jess

Treatment Time Frame: 5 Months
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 30 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 8.00 8
No Side Effects 4.00 4
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 2.00 2
 
Depression Relief 2.00 2
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Elavil   08/24/08
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I've been taking Elavil for about two years and when I first started taking it worked very well but with time the good effects wore off . I increased the dose and not really any results I have been doing research and finding that Elavil does help people in the beginning but after time it doesn't seem to help with symptoms anymore, I'm slowly weaning my self off of it and I'm going to see my PCP to try something different but I'm still not sure what I want to try. Don't know if anyone else has expereienced the same problem.

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
More Energy / Mental Clarity 2.00 2
Better Sleep 3.00 3
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 7.00 7
Cost/Benefit 3.00 3
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 2.00 2
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





some what useful   06/05/08
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
some what useful, seems safe.

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 200 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 5.00 5
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
More Energy / Mental Clarity 4.00 4
Better Sleep 7.00 7
No Side Effects 8.00 8
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 8.00 8
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

Has it's good points.   09/18/07
Reviewed by:     Springfield, Missouri, USA
This does help me get to sleep - whether I want to or not. I try to take it in early evening along with the Tizanidine to avoid morning grogginess, but it makes me too out of it if we are out past 8 PM. I tend to dream a lot anyway, but usually I don't remember them quite as much. I do still wake up 1-2 times a night, usually to use the bathroom. I think amitriptyline contributes to my weight problems. Even when I'm really trying hard, my weight just keeps bouncing around within the same 5-8# range. I also have hypothyroidism (no thyroid) and insulin resistance so my weight is a problem anyway. I think it makes me sweat even more than usual, which is quite a bit. I have to have fans on all the time at work as getting overheated makes me tired. I am thinking about weaning off of the amitriptyline for that reason and a couple of other reasons that probably aren't appropriate to mention on this site. My doctor said it is up to me and that my dose is so low I shouldn't have much of a problem. He tried me on double the dose, but it just made me groggier and increased other side effects.

Treatment Time Frame: 2.5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 3.00 3
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 3.00 3
More Energy / Mental Clarity 3.00 3
Better Sleep 6.00 6
No Side Effects 6.00 6
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 7.00 7
 
Depression Relief 5.00 5
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Anything for Sleep   06/28/07
Reviewed by:     Pennsylvania, USA
If you know anything about Fibromyalgia, know this -- not getting the proper type of sleep is BRUTAL! I'm not simply talking about sleeping eight hours each night, but rather about the deep sleep needed to restore your immune system. You're not doing your already tired, sluggish body any good by not sleeping properly and the Elavil or it's generic equivalent, Amitriptyline, helps you relax before bedtime so you CAN fall asleep and helps to KEEP you asleep. This medication works well and is an important part of a Fibromyalgia regime.

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity n/a n/a
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





elavil   02/02/06
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
ellavil very good for sleep, while drowsy in am it wears off just time it right take 10 hours before needing to be awake alert, very good for muscle relaxant properties and pain relief while taking it

Treatment Time Frame: 6 Months
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: Less than 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 4.00 4
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity 4.00 4
Better Sleep 8.00 8
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Junkfood Junkie   11/20/05
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
The only bad thing I can say about Elavil is that after two weeks of taking, it put me on a junkfood binge. I have no appetite whatsoever for anything else but sweets. I have to literally force feed myself anything of substance. But since it gives me great sleep, and has reduced my pain level greatly, I continue to take it.

Treatment Time Frame: 1 Month
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 30 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
More Energy / Mental Clarity 8.00 8
Better Sleep 10.00 10
No Side Effects 6.00 6
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 8.00 8
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





Convenient, but lazy   09/10/05
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I think taking a pill is convenient, but lazy because I need to work out or exercise regularly. Until I can find a better alternative then I will continue with the drugs. My insurance doesn't cover massage therapy.

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 10 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 5.00 5
More Energy / Mental Clarity 8.00 8
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 5.00 5
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 9.00 9
 
Depression Relief n/a n/a
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 2.00 2
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Page  1    

Displaying 1-10 of 11 ratings and reviews.













Fibromyalgia Treatments

Treatments Sorted

alphabetical list
categorical list

Treatments Rated Best


========================













 Treatments Reviewed
Protocols and Other Approaches
  
  

Massage / Bodywork
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Pool Exercises
  
  

Alternative Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Diet
  
  

Food Avoidance
  

Supplements
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Topicals
  
  
  

Devices
  
  
  

Therapies - Miscellaneous
  
  
  

Self Care Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Drug treatments
  

Drugs - Miscellaneous Rx
  

Drugs - Over the Counter
  

Drugs - Prescription
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Hot and Cold Therapy
  
  
  

Vitamin & Mineral Injections
  
  
  











Footer fibromyalgia-reviews.com
This site is for informational purposes only. It is not meant to diagnose or prevent any disease. You should seek independent health care advice regarding your personal condition, or seek advice from your medical specialist or healthcare provider. The use of this site is subject to your agreement to obtain advice from a qualified health professional.

 |