Effexor for Fibromyalgia
       - Fibromyalgia Treatment Review Guide
FMS Trmnt of
Symptoms

Effexor as a Fibromyalgia Treatment



Effexor for Fibromyalgia

Effexor is an anti-depressant that your doctor may prescribe to you for your fibromyalgia pain or depression. Tell us your experience with Effexor for fibromyalgia. Rate this fibromyalgia treatment below.


Treatment Ratings for FMS Symptoms
Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 4.20 4.20
Myofasical Trigger Point Pain Relief 4.43 4.43
More Energy / Mental Clarity 3.56 3.56
Better Sleep 4.70 4.70
No Side Effects 5.40 5.40
Convenience 8.00 8.00
Cost/Benefit 4.90 4.90
 
Depression Relief 5.70 5.70
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.11 1.11
Genitourinary Problem Relief 3.50 3.50
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1.00
Hyopoglycemia Relief 3.00 3.00



Based on 10 rating(s) & review(s).









   

Displaying 1-10 of 10 ratings and reviews.




Effexor/Venlafaxine - good with the bad   08/02/11
Reviewed by:     Granada Hills L.A., California, USA
I was placed on Effexor for my chronic depression around 2005. I had been on Prozac for many years, and it became ineffective for my depression around 2003. I had to wean off it, and then try various antidepressants to find one that worked and left me able to function. It was a VERY hard time, as being unmedicated for depression is DEADLY for me! So, Effexor. It has a norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor action. This was the first of these I had been on, and I found that it not only controlled my raging depression, it also helped my fibromyalgia! I learned this when I went 3 days without taking the Effexor, and went into a SEVERE flare, like the worst flu ever! This, it seems is where Effexor is BAD. There is a known chance for withdrawal with this drug. The withdrawal feels just like a fibro flare even in people without fibro! For me, right now, it's a GOOD thing. It's a positive reinforcement cycle. I KNOW that if I skip my vital medicines, I WILL suffer for it in the short term! Some users find that they will have to take a very tiny dose of Effexor for the REST OF THEIR LIVES to prevent the withdrawal. I do NOT know if, like with other withdrawals, the pain and malaise dissipates over time, and frankly, I am not willing to find out today! Ask me in a few years.... Effexor is great for the pain. I don't seem to have many flares as long as I take the daily dose, and the flares I have due to weather are not as severe or long lasting. Effexor helps a bit with sleep. One odd side effect is that it causes a sort of numbness in the stomach. I don't have hunger pains at ALL unless it's been over 12 hours since I last ate. Even then, I feel my blood sugar drop before hunger pains! However, I don't get as severe hypoglycemia as I used to. Not sure if that's the Effexor, or just trying to stay on a schedule. Dizziness CAN be a side effect of this med as well, but I haven't experienced that as much. Sexual dysfunction is minimal on this medication, unlike Prozac. This is a GOOD thing! For the depression I have, and probably for the depression that comes with being in constant pain from fibro, Effexor is very effective. Weigh the pros and cons, ALL OF THEM, well before you decide on this protocol, as they could be lifelong and detrimental in some people. My prescribing psychologists did NOT tell me about the withdrawal syndrome when I went on it, I found out about it later!

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 300 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
More Energy / Mental Clarity 8.00 8
Better Sleep 6.00 6
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 8.00 8
Cost/Benefit 8.00 8
 
Depression Relief 10.00 10
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 6.00 6
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 7.00 7

Did this review help you?            





Another Waste Of Time   03/08/08
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
This brought me no releife. If this works for other people with Fybromyalgia I don't understand how.

Treatment Time Frame: 1 Month
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 30 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Effexor Was NOT for Me!!   05/25/07
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Prior to getting up to my full dosage, I became constipated and had terrible gas. Once I got up to the 2 tabs in the am and 2 in the pm (about 150 mg), I started feeling nauseas. After I'd taken the full dosage for about 5 or 6 days, I developed oral thrush, my lips dryed out and split, I started throwing up, had diarrhea that kept me up all night and had skin irritations on my arms. I stopped the medication immediately.

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Weeks
Treatment Frequency: Tried it Over 5 Times
Dosage: 150 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 2.00 2
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 1.00 1
Convenience 3.00 3
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Trial and Error   04/09/07
Reviewed by:     Canada
I think everyone with fibromyalgia has been there: you keep trying pills and having them fail. It's really demoralizing. This one pushed me into a very manic state that then dropped dramatically. So the first little while on it I had tons of energy (so much that I moved across the country) and then suddenly I fell back down to being very depressed. Did nothing noticeable to help the pain, but depression wise it really set me up for a fall. That's something to watch for. However, friends have tried it and felt it worked well. So once again it is all about trial and error! Something will work for you!

Treatment Time Frame: 10 Months
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 200 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 2.00 2
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 9.00 9
No Side Effects 2.00 2
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief 3.00 3
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Helps Me   10/05/06
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Has helped greatly with pain and anxiety attacks. Might try to wean off next summer. Disadvantages are sleep is a little worse and TMJD is worse. Also constipation and no appetite.

Treatment Time Frame: 6 Months
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 150 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
More Energy / Mental Clarity 4.00 4
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 7.00 7
Cost/Benefit 9.00 9
 
Depression Relief 9.00 9
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





opinions can vary   04/19/06
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
As we all know people have different experiences on drugs than others. I must say that even though the drug companies say that this or that does not have side effects,all drugs have some sort of side effect & if taken for a long time have some sort of withdrawl in MY OPINION.I started out with Paxil for anxiety that at the time didnt know that the cause was the beginning of Fibro. After feeling that I maxxed out on its 40mg doze, I heard of Effexor & did some research on it & with it targeting 2 areas of the brain, I thought this would be a benefit. I started out on the lowest dose 37.5 mg once a day & I found it to work great. After being on it for 3.5 yrs and having to up my doses over time & taking 150mg 2xdaily, I started having problems getting to sleep and felt like I was at a peak again. After asking my doctor what would be next, he suggested putting another anti-depressant with it. I couldnt handle the thought of adding another. So I asked to be taken off of it. Even with a gradual weaning off of it by reducing my doses, I still had a terrible time with the withdrawls of getting off of it. I could actually hear in my head when I would try to get to sleep these sounds inside my head that I later would read was sensory withdrawls and would experience a slight shocking sensation when I would turn my head or look down. Even though I am completely off of Effexor for months now, I still experience every so often those slight sensory shock feelings. Although I am sleeping better off of the drug, Iam now experiencing a flare in the Fibro but am very concerned about getting on another anti-depressant to releive the oh so many symptoms of Fibro. I have also had a hysterectomy in the past so I have the hormonal issue thats there also. I hope to try and find an alternative to drugs.

Treatment Time Frame: 3.5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 300 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 5.00 5
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
More Energy / Mental Clarity 5.00 5
Better Sleep 3.00 3
No Side Effects 2.00 2
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 5.00 5
 
Depression Relief 5.00 5
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





Sleeping better more energy   01/09/06
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
This medication combined with chiropractice/massage therapy has increased my energy level and my sleeping is much better (I have 2 year old twins) and it's only been 2 weeks, so I'll be interested to see how it goes over time.

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Weeks
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Day
Dosage: 70 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 5.00 5
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity n/a n/a
Better Sleep 8.00 8
No Side Effects 8.00 8
Convenience 8.00 8
Cost/Benefit 9.00 9
 
Depression Relief 8.00 8
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Effexor   11/08/05
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Helped with depression but doctor took me off after I started having nightmares.

Treatment Time Frame: 2 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 70 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 3.00 3
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 3.00 3
More Energy / Mental Clarity 3.00 3
Better Sleep 7.00 7
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 5.00 5
Cost/Benefit 6.00 6
 
Depression Relief 9.00 9
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   2.00 2
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





2 out of 2 people found this review useful.

It wrecked my life...   09/19/05
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
...and I'm still recovering. At first it gave me energy. A few months later I got CFS and couldn't stay awake if I had to for any reason more than a few hours a day. I didn't have a clue that this was because of the EffexorXR until after I stopped taking it in September 2004. My pain became unbearable, and I could no longer even continue to exercise. I stopped taking it on a whim, to see if I could finally lose five pounds, which I did. But I was also wide awake again, and could think clearly without the drug...but for the first time in my life I got anxiety attacks, claustrophobia, major panic. The withdrawal was hell on earth. I haven't recovered completely even though I often think I have. I freaked out in the dentist's chair only last week, something I would never have done before Effexor. It's messed with my nervous system very badly. I was never depressed until after I began to take Effexor, but I didn't know it was Effexor that actually caused the depression until after I stopped taking it. It is such a very strong drug, and no one tells you that it works on your nevous system from two separate systems, and it is potentally very dangerous for some of us. I regret going near it. It has so far cost me four full years of my life as I'm still kind of afraid to go out too much, something that also has begun since the Effexor nightmare.

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 150 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 1.00 1
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief n/a n/a
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 10.00 10
No Side Effects 1.00 1
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 1.00 1
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





1 out of 1 people found this review useful.

effexor helps   08/22/05
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
I have taken at least 150-350 of effexor and it helps a with depression and chronic pain and myofacial pain. I have taken it for over 10 years and it starts to work in weeks and the effectiveness keeps on working a little better all the time. I started taking it for nerve pain from a neck injury but it does help my fibro considerably...without it i am in agony and roll up in a ball and scream in pain. i have had no side effects on it at all.

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 150 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 6.00 6
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 7.00 7
More Energy / Mental Clarity 7.00 7
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 8.00 8
 
Depression Relief 10.00 10
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





   

Displaying 1-10 of 10 ratings and reviews.













Fibromyalgia Treatments

Treatments Sorted

alphabetical list
categorical list

Treatments Rated Best


========================













 Treatments Reviewed
Protocols and Other Approaches
  
  

Massage / Bodywork
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Pool Exercises
  
  

Alternative Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Diet
  
  

Food Avoidance
  

Supplements
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Topicals
  
  
  

Devices
  
  
  

Therapies - Miscellaneous
  
  
  

Self Care Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Drug treatments
  

Drugs - Miscellaneous Rx
  

Drugs - Over the Counter
  

Drugs - Prescription
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Hot and Cold Therapy
  
  
  

Vitamin & Mineral Injections
  
  
  











Footer fibromyalgia-reviews.com
This site is for informational purposes only. It is not meant to diagnose or prevent any disease. You should seek independent health care advice regarding your personal condition, or seek advice from your medical specialist or healthcare provider. The use of this site is subject to your agreement to obtain advice from a qualified health professional.

 |