Duragesic for Fibromyalgia
       - Fibromyalgia Treatment Review Guide
FMS Trmnt of
Symptoms

Duragesic as a Fibromyalgia Treatment



Duragesic (Fentanyl) for Fibromyalgia Pain

Duragesic transdermal patches may be prescribed to you by your doctor to take care of your fibromyalgia pain. These patches distribute opiad pain medication into the skin that leads into the bloodstream to relieve your chronic pain. Tell us your experience with Duragesic for fibromyalgia. Rate this fibromyalgia treatment below.


Treatment Ratings for FMS Symptoms
Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 8.11 8.11
Myofasical Trigger Point Pain Relief 7.89 7.89
More Energy / Mental Clarity 4.25 4.25
Better Sleep 3.56 3.56
No Side Effects 8.33 8.33
Convenience 9.11 9.11
Cost/Benefit 9.56 9.56
 
Depression Relief 4.67 4.67
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   3.00 3.00
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1.00
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1.00
Hyopoglycemia Relief 3.00 3.00



Based on 9 rating(s) & review(s).









   

Displaying 1-9 of 9 ratings and reviews.




fentanyl duragesic   05/04/15
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
This patch is a miracle drug. It helps so much with pain and little side effects

Treatment Time Frame: 1.5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 50 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 4.00 4
No Side Effects 6.00 6
Convenience 6.00 6
Cost/Benefit 8.00 8
 
Depression Relief 5.00 5
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Works wonders   08/20/13
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Tried everything from Oxus, butran, tramadol, morphine, cellexa, lyrica, soma, cymbalta. Ended up come back to fentanyl. Butran pat h works great for my mom couldn't stand the headaches

Treatment Time Frame: 1 Week
Treatment Frequency: 3 Times Per Week
Dosage: 20 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 10.00 10
More Energy / Mental Clarity n/a n/a
Better Sleep 7.00 7
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 7.00 7
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   7.00 7
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief 7.00 7

Did this review help you?            





Best FM medication so far   05/14/09
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
After trying tons of different meds for my fibr0, RA, back, and shoulder pain my Dr finally recommended the patch. To be honest the first patches I had made me sick as a dog,(generic patch, dont use them) I threw up all day every time I changed the patch and half the day the following day but it took the pain away. And any break thru pain was easy enough to deal with by adding a Norco pill. It was way better then being in the pain I had been in and a far better medication over taking the morphine I had been on before hand. Although I found that it was muchhhhh easier to keep my script filled on time and my Dr willing and able to write them when I was paying cash for my own medical. Once I had to switch to my employer's plan and then when I lost my job to the state's plan that all changed. The Dr's where reluctant to write the script even though my medical history showed use for a real reason, and no abuse, and getting my script filled well that was a whole another horror story. Needless to say I ended up having to stop using the patch cold turkey because of a pack of idiots who don't have to live with the pain of FM or RA! The withdraw was not so bad I was sick for a day, the pain after has been the worst part. I can't wait to get my patches back so I can get up and do more, get out more, enjoy my kids, clean my house! Tried Lyric, and it dulled the pain a bit but still not "normally" functioning yet. The only down sides of the patch are that they sometimes come off (It gets VERY hot during the summer were I live) and it doesn't help with the fatigue, or insomnia at all.

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Years
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Week
Dosage: 100 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 7.00 7
More Energy / Mental Clarity 4.00 4
Better Sleep 3.00 3
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 2.00 2
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Fentanyl Helps Me More Than Anything   07/21/08
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
Having been a chronic pain patient from an accident for over 10 years now, and having been diagnosed with Fibro this past year (after years of study), I'm a firm advocate that Duragesic (Fentanyl) pathes help tremendously for pain. Along with using the Patches, I also use the loli-pop for of Fentanyl, Actiq, 1200 mgm maybe 5-6 times a day. It's powerful stuff! Use cautiously if you're a "newbie". Even under the watchfull eyes of your Dr., watch your breathing!! Just started smoking cannabis for the first time as a medicine. Doesn't seem to help my pain much, but it sure does help with the anxiety and insomnia. Good luck to you all out there who will be going to bed in pain. My heart goes out to you all!!

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 3 Times Per Week
Dosage: 200 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
More Energy / Mental Clarity 1.00 1
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 1.00 1
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





works 4 me   11/23/07
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
been very pleased with this treatment as long as i can get the med refilled on time--withdrawal side effects are horrid unless done with md assist.

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Years
Treatment Frequency: 3 Times Per Week
Dosage: 30 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 8.00 8
More Energy / Mental Clarity 10.00 10
Better Sleep 4.00 4
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 7.00 7
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Better than nothing   07/20/07
Reviewed by:     Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Although I'm not too enthused about all the narcotics going thru by body daily, all in all it's helped me better than anything else I've tried. The pain has gone down to a level that I can function, but it does not take away a significant amount.

Treatment Time Frame: 3 Years
Treatment Frequency: 1 Time Per Day
Dosage: 150 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 4.00 4
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 3.00 3
More Energy / Mental Clarity 5.00 5
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 7.00 7
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 9.00 9
 
Depression Relief 3.00 3
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   6.00 6
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





Great for Pain Relief   06/28/07
Reviewed by:     Pennsylvania, USA
I use these patches every 3 days and the dosage below is misleading. My patch is 100mcg/h, whatever THAT means. I just know it's the strongest patch. I've been using these for over five years now and although it's true that it's one of the strongest medications you can take, I remember what life was like BEFORE the patch and I wouldn't trade them now for the world. If that means I'm addicted, oh well. It's better than the pain I suffered, so I figure it's the lesser of two evils. Don't start on these unless nothing else works because they are so addictive. As far as I'm concerned, they saved my life. Also, someone else who rated these said the patches were nearly $500 for five patches. In PA, it's around $450 for ten patches equaling an entire month's worth rather than half a month, not that that's cheap! Try changing your pharmacy!!

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Week
Dosage: 100 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
More Energy / Mental Clarity 8.00 8
Better Sleep 8.00 8
No Side Effects 8.00 8
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 8.00 8
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   n/a n/a
Genitourinary Problem Relief n/a n/a
Skin Problem Relief n/a n/a
Hypoglycemia Relief n/a n/a

Did this review help you?            





pain relief   04/01/07
Reviewed by:     Location Not Given
first of all duragesic is an addictive drug and most regular doctors won't write for it.i think its too strong a drug for just fibro, there are other drugs that could be benefitial. i have many other problems other than fibro alone. now its also about $500.00 for 5 patches and 5 patches will last 15 days. so for a month supply as u can see its quite expensive and most insurance will balk at that price. it does work but its the highest on the level of pain medication. they say its 80 times stronger than morphine. i will say this if you do have fibro and nothing has helped the dr. should give u this. my rheumotologist told me i wouldn't write that for you and my interest told me the same thing. i have been in a pain clinic for 7 years, thats about the only way to get it. another thing to remember never just stop taking you have to be weened off this drug. so there are alot of pro and con before starting. really think hard and long once you've taken this road there is no turning back without detox..withdrawal symptoms can be severe with this drug. but i have been on it 7 years and if maintained right you get good results. diane in ga

Treatment Time Frame: Over 5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 2 Times Per Week
Dosage: 70 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 9.00 9
More Energy / Mental Clarity 2.00 2
Better Sleep 1.00 1
No Side Effects 9.00 9
Convenience 9.00 9
Cost/Benefit 9.00 9
 
Depression Relief 6.00 6
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   1.00 1
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





love it!   01/13/06
Reviewed by:     North Carolina, USA
I have been on Duragesic now for over 3 years and it made a world of difference in my life. Before I could barely get out of bed. Afterwards I could do things. The only drawback is that over time you have to go up on the dose to get the same effects and a lot of doctors balk and writing the rx.

Treatment Time Frame: 3.5 Years
Treatment Frequency: 3 Times Per Week
Dosage: 100 mg

Fibromyalgia Tender Point Pain Relief 7.00 7
Myofascial Trigger Point Pain Relief 7.00 7
More Energy / Mental Clarity 3.00 3
Better Sleep 3.00 3
No Side Effects 10.00 10
Convenience 10.00 10
Cost/Benefit 10.00 10
 
Depression Relief 3.00 3
Irritable Bowel Syndrome Relief   2.00 2
Genitourinary Problem Relief 1.00 1
Skin Problem Relief 1.00 1
Hypoglycemia Relief 1.00 1

Did this review help you?            





   

Displaying 1-9 of 9 ratings and reviews.













Fibromyalgia Treatments

Treatments Sorted

alphabetical list
categorical list

Treatments Rated Best


========================













 Treatments Reviewed
Protocols and Other Approaches
  
  

Massage / Bodywork
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Pool Exercises
  
  

Alternative Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Diet
  
  

Food Avoidance
  

Supplements
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Topicals
  
  
  

Devices
  
  
  

Therapies - Miscellaneous
  
  
  

Self Care Treatments
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Drug treatments
  

Drugs - Miscellaneous Rx
  

Drugs - Over the Counter
  

Drugs - Prescription
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Hot and Cold Therapy
  
  
  

Vitamin & Mineral Injections
  
  
  











Footer fibromyalgia-reviews.com
This site is for informational purposes only. It is not meant to diagnose or prevent any disease. You should seek independent health care advice regarding your personal condition, or seek advice from your medical specialist or healthcare provider. The use of this site is subject to your agreement to obtain advice from a qualified health professional.

 |